Recent Searches

Beach Hopping St John

star-4.513 Reviews
Cruz Bay, U.S. Virgin Islands
Beach Hopping St John

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...

icon6 hours  (Approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds


Saved to wishlist!

Departure Point

Cruz Bay, St John 00830, USVI

Departure Time

9:00 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Max's Taxi and Tours St. John

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the maximum group size during Beach Hopping St John?
This activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Beach Hopping St John.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips

  • "You can plan your own stops (they'll take you anywhere on St. John) - or if you prefer, just sit back and let them take you to their favorite beaches/spots on this beautiful island." See review


13 Reviews
3 stars
2 stars

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 13 reviews
A MUST with MAX!!
, Jul 2021
Book this tour w/Max for a PHENOMENAL excursion! Max was very energetic, super communicator & extremely knowledgeable. Max is from St John and seems to have a PhD in history, vegetation, meteorology, law, charisma and personality plus! He bent over backwards to make sure EVERYONE in our trip had the best day possible, and we did! We were well hydrated, fed with delicious food and consistently entertained., The only negative about this trip is that it ended. Worth every penny and more, a definite MUST with Max when visiting St John!! Booking was super easy w/Angela, great communication, ease w/drop off/pick up and very reliable.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you so much for participating in the Beach Hopping Tour. I do try to provide my guest with enough information about the island that they could comfortably migrate their way around. It feels good to now that i give a bit more than i thought i did! Thanks and see you again soon.
Very disappointed
, Jul 2021
Max was great on the way out and then left us without a ride back to town. We had to pay extra above what we had already paid for the excursion and he left us hanging for 45 minutes before he told us to just get another ride back to town.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
My apology for the disappointment towards the end of your trip. I tried my best to keep in contact with you given the lack of service on my end. I do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your vacation and plz do come again.
Great day beach hopping with Mad Max
, Jul 2021
Max is the man. We had the best day. Great tour guide. He knows all the in-and-outs of St. John and is a really great guy. Really awesome experience. Highly recommend.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
It was my pleasure!! Hope tp see you guys again sometime soon.
Great Way to Tour St. John for the Day!
, Jul 2021
We had a great time on this tour! You will get picked up right off the Ferry in St. John! The Ferry from Red Hook was $8/pp each way, as an FYI! The Ferry departed every 30 minutes in the AM and then on the hour in the PM, (Covid Times). The Ferry back to Red Hook did fill up for the 5 PM time slot - so be advised to get in line about 15-20 minutes before! The tour guide was great. You take about a 1.5-2 hour drive through St. John. You will see beaches, shopping, beautiful homes, and learn about local vegetation/plants/wildlife. Along the drive beaches will be pointed out to you along with ways to access them (drive right up, 10 min hike, etc). Keep note of which ones are your favorite for later! You also go to an abandoned sugar factory where you learn a lot about the production of sugar and get to taste some very fresh fruit! After this structured part of the tour - you get to choose what you want to do! We decided to visit Maho Bay and Trunk Bay. Our guide dropped us off at each stop for about 1.5-1.75 hours and gave us the lay of the land. Maho Bay has a great area across the street with a food truck ($19 cheeseburger, $22 fish sandwich) and bar ($10-15 cocktails) as well as paddleboards and snorkeling equipment for rent. This beach was free! We then went to Trunk Bay and admission was $5/pp not included with the tour. There was also a bar and food there (we didn't get anything)- but they also had more substantial restrooms/showers for cleaning up. We were dropped off right at the spot where were picked up - by the Ferry in St. John! Our guide also recommended we hit up BEACH BAR which was a 15/10!!! The Happy Hour special is honestly worth the Ferry ride over from Red Hook. $4 Painkillers, $3 wells, beers, and seltzers. Cheapest prices I've seen! You can sit right on the beach and watch an amazing sunset after this tour. We had such a great time on this tour. It was the right mix of history/learning about St.John with some fun beaches included.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
WOW!! I am almost lost for words here guys! I think this is the perfect itinerary for my Stt groups!! THANK YOU!!! Please do come back and visit. I have lots more to tell and plenty more for you to see.
HelpfulHelpful2 travelers found this review helpful
A day with Max
, Jun 2021
We booked the guided tour with Max as a very last minute excursion. All three kids (8,12,17) all said that spending time with Max was the best part. We met Max at the docks around 9am, and he took us to grab coffee, sandwiches, and some bottles of water. From there, we spent the next 2 hours seeing all of the north shore beaches, some of the ruins of the old Mills, and hearing about the history of the island. After the tour, Max asked us what we wanted to do for the rest of the day. We chose to hang out at Maho Bay for a couple of hours to snorkel and get lunch, and then hang out at Cinnamon Bay for the rest of the day. Max was a great guide, it was well worth the price and I highly recommend connecting with him to get around the island. Being from the Northeast, we are used to constantly used to rushing around and not functioning on island time. Max was prompt and gave us no sense of anxiety about things like getting back to the ferry.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Awww, that makes me so happy that the whole family enjoyed the day so much! Thank you all for being so much fun and exploring the island with me!
Max is great!
, Jun 2021
This was one of the best parts of our trip. Max was an amazing tour guide. His insight to the island definitely shows. He made sure the whole group was comfortable. We were able to stop and stay at 2 different locations. So glad we were able to do this early in our trip to learn more about island.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
That is such a nice compliment, thank you guys as well! Im so glad you had no worries and truly enjoyed your day and tour!
A great way to experience St. John for a first time.
, Jun 2021
We had a lot of fun touring the island with Max. What a great way to explore St John! Max was funny and informative. We got to see some of the various plants, hear about the history, walk around an old sugar & rum plantation and then took a swim in Cinnamon Bay. From there we ventured to Trunk Bay where we snorkeled, showered & changed clothes, before having Max drop us off at Mongoose Junction for some shopping and food. Definitely a highlight of our trip!!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Thanks Guys!! It was a pleasure showing you the island and the beaches. You guys were amazing!! Good energy! Don't forget to find me on facebook @ maxi taxi
never book them again
, Jun 2021
We arrived off ferri and waited 30 min. Called they said they were parked down street and had left. I asked why he was not standing at gate like all the taxi drivers had soar ankle? They blamed us for not walking down looking. They said couldn't take us picked up other people I reminded them we paid $200 already, refund us. We hoped taxi and did everything saved 💰
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
We were waiting at the ferry dock from 845am to 930 in Max's truck parked out front. I did not say we were down the street. I said we were parked out front on the street where all the Taxi's park and showed you exactly where we were. We were talking to the other Taxi drivers wondering where you were since we had no communication from you since you booked the tour. We also did not blame you for anything, we simply was trying to tell you exactly where we were parked in sight of all the people at the dock and thats when you told us you were sitting at the cannon where we could not see you. That is when I told you most people either stand at the park at the dock out of the way of traffic waiting for their pick up or they communicate with us ahead of time to tell us where their pick up of choice is and we accommodate. When Max got a call at 930 and we were there waiting for 45 mins with no communication from you he left. When you called at 930 I explained that Max just left but I can call him and get him back and start the tour, your answer was boldly NO just get you another Taxi and refund your money. When Max called Viator he explained the details and was told since he was there for 45 mins waiting, he tried to accommodate, and there was no communication from you until after 930 when the tour started at 9 there would be no refund.
Outstanding - A Great Day!
, Jun 2021
Had a really great day with Max & Andrea. They're a sweet, local couple whose goal is to make sure you totally enjoy your day with them. You can plan your own stops (they'll take you anywhere on St. John) - or if you prefer, just sit back & let them take you to their favorite beaches/spots on this beautiful island. We'll definitely be recommending them to our friends that come here - well worth the price!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Thank you so much Scott and Kelly! Having great guests makes our job so easy and pleasant for us as well. We are really glad you both enjoyed your tour with us and we look forward to helping your friends!
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
Book it you won’t regret it
, May 2021
It’s you love beaches and history. This is an amazing way to spend your time! Maxi was so informative and a joy to be around. Trust me when I say this is WORTH booking.
icon Response from Host , May 2021
Thank you so much! It was a pleasure taking you guys around my Island.

Explore Similar Things to Do